Big fail

Today it’s dia de Reyes in Spain, the day when the three wise men came to Jesus with gifts during the night, and the usual is that the kids wake up in the morning and have a pile of gifts under the Christmas tree.

As you might know, I’m not very religious and I do not follow the bible. And yea, last night they had big parades in every city of Spain with th wise men handing out candy and other things. Big plus this year was that the president of my football team had be chosen to be one of the kings, as they say here, and he gave out flags and scarfs of my football team. Unfortunately I didn’t go see it, but a friend did and now she has a flag for me 🙂 The rain was pouring down when they were to set out so they didn’t start until an hour later, which meant that I couldn’t leave with my car when I wanted to, I had to wait another hour… Then off to see my sister and her family!

We usually celebrate and exchange gifts Santa style, but this year we haven’t had time, slit had to be on Reyes. First mistake: every gift said that it was from my boyfriend and me. Good thing the kids don’t know how to read! Second mistake: gifts are supposed to be handed out in the morning, we did it around 7 last night. How did the wise men have time to pass by our house? But luckily, as a 2 and 4 year old, you don’t have that critical thinking, even though my nephew is a smart ass. After meeting Santa at my academy he said “well, I think he was wearing a costume”. And talking about being critical, I just watched a serie of videos on the news of people and their kids opening their gifts. Why is no one thinking: why do all the gifts come in big bags from El Corte Ingles? Did the wise men really have time to go THERE before seeing all the children? 

  

  

Leave a Reply

