Start the year healthy with pancakes

I woke up late today, well, at least what’s considered late for me. Last night was a blast, I went to some friends’ house for dinner and wine, and we had a lot of all of it. For dinner we had raclette, a French cheese that you cook with meat and vegetables. It’s delicious, but the whole thing trying to be on a diet does not work with this dish… Good thing we went out dancing later so we could lose all the kilos we just gained.

So today when I woke up I was determined to make something a bit more healthy.

Healthy, for me, it does not mean that it has to be low fat or only vegetables. I believe in eating what you like (also because I used to be very picky when younger) but if there is a healthier alternative, use it! And in general, food cooked at home is healthier. You know what’s in the food, how it’s been cooked, and if there is any possibility to make it healthier. For example, use wholegrain flour instead of white flour, use oil instead of butter, if no sugar is needed, don’t add it, etc.

This morning I decided to make pancakes. I didn’t have any eggs at home so I searched the Internet to see if I could find a base without eggs. I did but then I changed the recipe (quite a lot).

Ingredients:
• 150ml almond milk
• 200ml wholegrain flour
• 1 tablespoon baking powder
• 1 tablespoon flaxseeds
• a pinch of salt
• 1,5 tablespoons of water
• olive oil (not even a tablespoon)

Preparation:
Mix it all in a blender (or if you don’t have a blender, mix the dry ingredients first and then add the liquid ones).
Fry the pancake in a pan (use olive oil if you have to)
Tadaa!

I later served the pancakes with my homemade applesauce. Yummy and filling.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/594/28860021/files/2015/01/img_7804.jpg

Leave a Reply

